University of Orleans

Orléans, France
The University of Orléans (French: Université d'Orléans) is a French university, in the Academy of Orléans and Tours.


In 1230, when for a time the doctors of the University of Paris were scattered, a number of the teachers and disciples took refuge in Orléans; when pope Boniface VIII, in 1298, promulgated the sixth book of the Decretals, he appointed the doctors of Bologna and the doctors of Orléans to comment upon it. St. Yves (1253-1303) studied civil law at Orléans, and Pope Clement V also studied there law and letters; by a Papal Bull published at Lyon, 27 January, 1306, he endowed the Orléans institutes with the title and privileges of a University (it has been founded as one of the very earliest universities outside Italy in 1235, only two years after Cambridge and Toulouse, in France only Paris' Sorbonne was even older). Twelve later popes granted the new university many privileges. In the 14th century it had as many as five thousand students from France, Germany, Lorraine, Burgundy, Champagne, Picardy, Normandy, Touraine, Guyenne and Scotland. The current university was founded in 1960, after its medieval predecessor was closed down in 1793 and merged into the University of France in 1808.

The Global Study Awards

Together with the ISIC Association and British Council IELTS, StudyPortals offers you the chance to receive up to £10000 to expand your horizon and study abroad. We want to ultimately encourage you to study abroad in order to experience and explore new countries, cultures and languages.

Other Degrees