The University of Cádiz

Cadiz, Spain
The University of Cádiz, commonly referred to as UCA, is a public university located in the province of Cádiz, Andalusia, Spain, noted for its medicine and marine sciences curricula.



In 1748 the most important cultural institution ever in Cadiz was created. This was the Royal College of Surgery of the Army, whose masters were Virgili, Canivell, Nueve Iglesias, Roland.


  • The UCA offers 41 new undergraduate degree models adapted to the European Higher Education Area, taught by Faculties and Collegiate centres of the University.
  • Second Cycle - During the academic year 2012-2013, is the last possibility of starting an Engineering degree (4th and 5th) or a second cycle degree.
  • Bachelor, Engineering and Diplomas - Students of previous courses can complete their initial Bachelor, Engineering or Diplomas.


  • Andalusian Centre of Vinicultural Research (CAIV)
With specialized thematic laboratories in vinous and acetic fermentation, grape growing, microbiology, bioessays, chromatography, characterization and preparation of samples, white and tasting room, development of methods and qualiity control.
  • Andalucian Center of Marine Science and Tecnology (CACYTMAR)
It offers thematic laboratories of maps, laboratories of optics and radioactivity, cellular cultures, reception of samples and toxicology, in addition to an oceanographic laboratory of calibration, a centralized service of analysis, permanent tracking stations, and alert network

Master's Programmes

Environmental Studies & Earth Sciences (1)
Medicine & Health (1)

Student Life

Campus life

South of the Iberian Peninsula and southwest of Andalusia, one finds the province of Cadiz, the southernmost of the Spanish peninsular territories, separated by only 14 kilometres from the African continent, by the Strait of Gibraltar. The history of the province of Cadiz is marked by the legacy of the diverse cultures that have passed through it: Phoenicians, Carthaginians, Romans, Arabs,..

It is a unique province for the characteristics of its districts and for the population distribution around large urban centres.

The Campuses:

  • Bay of Algeciras
  • Cadiz
  • Jerez
  • Puerto Real